Fellowships and Scholarships/Funding

The Department of Political Science has a host of resources available to students, from access to experimental pools to several annual departmental fellowship and scholarship awards given to students who exemplify outstanding scholarly achievements. These fellowships and scholarships were established through the generous philanthropic support of donors who value and encourage high-level intellectual pursuits in the study of political science.

  • Political Science Experiment Research Opportunities

  • Beyond financial support, graduate students in the program have access to several research resources. For example, graduate students can run experiments through the Omnibus Program of Experimental Research. This experimental research program, run by the Department of Political Science, coordinates the use of undergraduate participant pools for political science experiments either in our experimental lab rooms or using online tools. Our goal is to advance empirical research in political behavior while also enriching the learning environment for the faculty, graduate students and undergraduate students.

  • Faculty-Student Summer Research Collaborative Grants 

  • The faculty-student summer research collaborative grants are awarded as part of a yearly selection process, with the Graduate Affairs Committee evaluating research project proposals from faculty-student pairings. For selected projects, fellowships pay a summer stipend to the graduate student of at least $5000. The corresponding faculty member will commit $1000 of their research funds toward the student’s research stipend and is also responsible for paying any related research costs.

  • Summer Methods Travel Program Support

  • Students who will attend ICPSR, Essex, or similar methods programs can apply for support to help offset the costs. The exact amount and availability of funding varies (in past years support has ranged from $1000 - $2000).

  • Political Science Department Research Award

  • These funds are intended to support graduate students in conducting their own research, for example by paying for national experimental subjects, buying access to archive materials, etc. Award amount is up to $3000 but we divide the award across applicants whenever possible to spread the wealth.

  • Travel Funding

  • Graduate students in the Department of Political Science may apply for funding to support travel related to their doctoral thesis research. The Department Graduate Travel Award funds up to $1,000 in travel expenses to advance graduate study, such as travel to a conference to present a paper. Download PDF application here.

  • Hewitt Graduate Scholarship

  • The $1500 Hewitt Graduate Scholarship is intended for incoming graduate students who have an interest in American politics, especially as political processes and policies relate to state and local government or energy and environmental policy. Students may nominate themselves, or be nominated by a faculty member.

  • Marvin Zetterbaum Award

  • Graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in graduate student instruction may qualify for the $500 Marvin Zetterbaum Award. In order to be considered, a student must have attended UC Davis as a graduate student for at least six quarters, and must have at least two quarters of teaching experience. The honoree may, based on qualifications, be given the opportunity to teach a course during the following academic year.

  • Rothchild Graduate Research Award

  • The purpose of the Rothchild Memorial Graduate Research Award is to encourage scholarship that, in substance and method, reflects the academic values in which Don and Edith Rothchild firmly believed. The award supports graduate student research, at the doctoral dissertation level, that emphasizes qualitative methods in investigating intra-national and inter-societal conflict resolution, especially work on inter-ethnic conflicts.

    The award, of up to $1,500, may be used for field research, archival work, appropriate methodological training and similar tasks. Award recipients are expected to report the findings of their research in a public colloquium, the "Rothchild colloquium series." The award stipulates that this research is to be done "at the doctoral dissertation level," which means that it is to support research directly related to the dissertation.

  • Merk Family Award

  • The Political Science Merk Family Distinguished Dissertation Prospectus Award was established to award support for one quarter for a student's current work on his or her dissertation. The fellowship, consisting of a $4,000 stipend, is awarded for the summer quarter. The committee will consider a student’s academic standing and progress in the program in selecting a recipient for this award.

  • Bret Hewitt Award

  • The Political Science Bret Hewitt Qualifying Exam Award was established to award support for one quarter for a student's presentation of an outstanding Qualifying Exam. The fellowship, consisting of a $4,000 stipend, is awarded for the summer quarter. The Graduate Affairs Committee will review faculty recommended qualifying examinations when selecting a student for this award.

  • Robert W. Jackman Scholarship

  • The Robert W. Jackman Scholarship is in memory of Professor Robert W. Jackman. The intent of the scholarship is to support the research activities of a political science graduate student for a variety of research purposes including, but not limited to, research-related travel, attending training events, and the collection of data. The scholarship recipient must be a political science graduate student who has a strong record of academic achievement. The award amount is up to $500.

  • The Political Science Diversity Award

  • The Political Science Diversity Award supports focused summer research and study by a doctoral candidate who is a first-generation college student, who comes from a disadvantaged socio-economic background, or who, through life experiences or educational background, demonstrates an ability to contribute to a diverse educational environment. The award amount is up to $5000.

  • Charles Hardin Award

  • The Charles Hardin Award was established in 1998 in memory of Professor Emeritus Charles M. Hardin. Prof. Harden was a professor of political science from 1964-1976 and a Constitution Scholar. The award provides financial assistance to graduate students invited to present papers at annual conferences or comparable academic associations. The maximum award amount is $500.00.