Professor Lauren Young wins Hellman Award

2021 Hellman Award

UC Davis Political Science faculty Lauren Young win UC Davis Hellman Fellowship 2021 Award.

UC Davis has awarded its annual Hellman Fellowships, which provide research funding to faculty members when they need it the most: early in their careers. The 15 award recipients for 2021-22 are now members of the Society of Hellman Fellows; the "society" name is relatively new, but the fellowships date back to 2008. 

Since 1995, the Hellman family has given a total of $133M to the Fellows Program, advancing the research and professional development of early career faculty. Over 2,000 faculty have received Hellman Fellowships to date, and their discoveries, commitment to academic rigor, and expertise in a broad range of fields including the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, engineering, and medicine. Past Hellman Fellows are recognized internationally for their research.  Many are now university leaders – vice chancellors, deans, chairs, and heads of departments.